The latest version of Turnitin on Blackboard contains an additional route for deleting a Turnitin Assignment.
**** IMPORTANT **** Deleting a Turnitin Assignment will remove the assignment off Blackboard along with the Grade Centre column and corresponding marks. All Turnitin Assignments need to be accessible so that students can view their past submissions and feedback at any time – even after their course has finished. You should therefore ONLY delete a Turnitin Assignment area that has been created in error and that has NOT been used.
Never delete a Turnitin Assignment that is in use or has been completed.
If you need to delete a Turnitin Assignment that has been created in error, then you can do this via Course Tools/Turnitin Assignments, and from there, you’ll see your Turnitin Assignment(s) listed with the new “Delete Assignment” link as shown below.
Deleting the Turnitin assignment will also delete the column created in the Grade Centre and corresponding marks.
It’s also possible to delete a Turnitin Assignment by going to the Content Area, clicking on the drop down arrow next to the Turnitin Assignment and clicking on Delete.
Again, you will receive a confirmation box to delete the assignment, as shown above, and if you click on “OK” you will delete the link from the content area, the column created in the Grade Centre and any corresponding marks.
If you’ve created a Turnitin Assignment submission point by mistake,we recommend you only delete the assignment during the initial build of a Blackboard module site, and not when the site has been made available to students or where students have started to submit to Turnitin, as in doing so, this will delete the link previously made available to the students within the content area, and with it the Grade Centre column and the students submissions.
If you have any concerns over deleting a Turnitin Assignment, please contact one of the Learning Technologists in AQD.